Keep Your Fork—Dessert Is on the Way:
Savoring the Second Half of Life

by Barb Warner

Dog Ear Pub, 2013. ISBN 978-1-457-51769-3.
Reviewed by Judith Helburn
Posted on 09/02/2013

Nonfiction: Life Lessons; Nonfiction: Elders

Keep Your Fork is an enthusiastic, joyful personal look at aging well. Warner writes in a casual, inviting manner, weaving her personal stories and observations together with references to scholarly studies as well as pithy quotes from scholars and well-known personalities such as Oprah and Mark Twain. This short, engaging book using large print is a non-threatening approach towards being the best we can be in the second half of life.

Warner does not candy-coat the difficulties of aging. Instead, she suggests paths through and around negative aspects of growing older. She suggests that we question what we have learned to see if it still fits and that we face life with gratitude, resilience and helping others. A good start for us facing aging.

Barb Warner is in her 70's and lives in Aurora, Colorado. She edits a newsletter (Powerful Tools) and writes a blog. Visit her website.

Authors/Publicists: For promotion purposes, you may quote excerpts of up to 200 words from our reviews, with a link to the page on which the review is posted. ©Copyright to the review is held by the writer (review posting date appears on the review page). If you wish to reprint the full review, you may do so ONLY with her written permission, and with a link to Contact our Book Review Editor (bookreviews at with your request and she will forward it to the appropriate person.

StoryCircleBookReviews provides a review venue for women self-published authors and for women's books published by independent and university presses.

Email me with news about your book reviews

Sarton Women's Book Award

Your ad could be here.
Advertise with us!


Visit us on Facebook and Twitter and goodreads.

Buy books online through by simply clicking on the book cover or title. Your purchase will support our work of encouraging all women to tell their stories.
This title is currently available ONLY as an e-book